Race for the Cure 5K

The Race for the Cure was this past Saturday in North Texas. In the last month, I’ve been working to acclimate myself to the summer heat. With that said, I was looking forward to the 5K run. And, of course, looking to bring awareness and support to breast cancer.

I woke up bright and early at 5:45 a.m. After consuming a Clif bar and banana, I got dressed and began mentally preparing for a great race. Parking was surprisingly a breeze. I was prepared for some chaos and frustration, but the race organizers had a parking garage set up just for participants.

We grabbed some fruit and walked around to check out the vendors before heading to the start line.

It was sweet to see these signs for those that have lost the fight. I’m so glad we can continue to remember those that we’ve lost. We fight breast cancer for those we’ve lost and for all others still fighting. I absolutely love doing stuff like this.

I was running the competitive 5K while some friends of mine decided to run/walk the casual 5K. My race started 10 minutes before the casual walk. I left my friends and headed to the start line a couple minutes before the start. I love races. The energy and people help motivate me to keep going.

The horn sounded and we were off. I knew there were 8 water stations and I knew I’d be stopping at most of them. I found my comfortable pace and kept at it. There were two spots where the sun was just beating down on me. Those two spots were the worst. They were long and tiring. I kept at it and continued stopping at water stations. Those were absolute blessings. The volunteers were attentive and quick with handing out water. The only problem was unless I stopped to drink the water, I ended up not having a trash to throw the cup away. A couple times, I ended up littering.

By the second mile, I turned down the longest stretch of the race. I thought that road wasn’t ever going to end. I knew that once I turned left, I was a few hundred yards from the finish. I kept going. I rounded that corner and heard all the cheers. Thanks to all the volunteers for that. I needed that extra little push to finish out strong. The timer came into a view and I was closing in on my last 5K time back in January. I needed to beat that time. NEEDED! So, I started sprinting and crossed the finish line with one minute to spare.

My official time: 34:32

I placed 12th in my age group out of 17. I placed 360 overall. I believe the total head count was 578. I’ll take it!

After I finished, I grabbed a water and headed back to the race. I needed to cheer on my friends and everyone else. The rest of the crew did great, too! It was such a great way to support such an awesome cause.

After, we made our way over to the booths to visit with some vendors and grab some goodies. McAlisters gave out tea. Collin Creek Mall gave out pink bags. La Madeline gave out strawberries dipped in yogurt. So yummy.

We finished the morning with a tribute to all the breast cancer survivors. I don’t think there was a dry eye in the place.

Hello, tutu! This was by far my favorite moment of the day. Cheering on those that have conquered breast cancer was so humbling. It was so much fun and such a pleasure to be a part of this fighting community. It was also great to be a part of the PepsiCo team. It turned out to be the perfect way to spend my Saturday morning. I’d do it again in a heartbeat.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

