TWD: Berry Galette

Do ya’ll remember what TWD stands for? It’s been a while since I’ve baked a Tuesdays with Dorie recipe. I don’t have much of an excuse. I got a bit tired of making bread. I couldn’t find the right type of flour to use and dough can be a bit finicky sometimes. The Texas heat and a hot stove really don’t go well together either.

But here I am today to show you something so delicious (and easy). It’s worth the comeback. I’m back baby!

This is Berry Galette.

I absolutely loved how easy the dough was to make. A little bit of dry ingredients and a little bit of wet ingredients. Bing Bang Boom! Berry Galette!

The recipe allowed for two galettes. When I was rolling half of the dough out, I thought it was coming out too thin. I ended up using all of the dough. Truthfully, it came out really nice this way. It felt like more of a pie without the crust on top. I’m game for that!

I used frozen berries (raspberries, blackberries and blueberries) because I’m a wee bit lazy. Plus, I had no idea if the dough was going to be a several hour prep or a simple no-mess recipe. Can you tell I wanted something quick and easy?

I think it turned out really well.

I can’t even tell you how amazing it smelled in my house. So stinkin good. Better than a Yankee candle. That’s saying a lot considering we just bought the Spiced Pumpkin candle that’s worthy of lickable proportions. You got me?

That’s a fork full of yumtastic deliciousness.

You’re welcome to come on over for a slice. Better get here quick though. I’m not waiting for no one!

You wanna make this yourself? Well let me tell you where you can get the recipe without buying the book, Baking with Julia. I’m so good to you.

Hosts this time around: Lisa at Tomato Thymes in the Kitchen and Andrea of the Kitchen Lioness

15 comments
  1. Sharon said:

    Great photos and good tip on using frozen berries.

  2. This was definitely a recipe to come back for. It was simple and delicious. I love your photos, and I’m jealous that you had vanilla ice cream for yours!

    • Ha thank you. I couldn’t think of anything else to top it with. :) So good.

  3. Teresa said:

    It’s nice to know this works with frozen berries. I also like the winter versions the southern-hemisphere folks have been making with apple and pear. Easy, year-round, delicious? That’s my kind of recipe.

    • I should really try this with apples. Love apples! I let the berries sit out while the dough was in the fridge. Wouldn’t suggest using the berries unless you defrost them a bit first.

  4. Your photos are indeed beautiful. This was one fun dessert I made 2 small galettes, I ate the last day old slice today for lunch. Even day old it was delicious.

  5. Ckay said:

    I really enjoyed reading your Galette post with all that beautiful pictures.
    I’m with you: this recipe is easy and delicious.
    I’ve used mixed frozen berries as well, adding some nectarine bits.

    • Great idea to add the nectarine bits. Yum!

  6. Cher said:

    Looks like you picked the perfect recipe to jump back in with!
    Looks great.

  7. Baking in the Texas heat? That makes you one brave woman. I lived there for three years and adored the heat, but I also lived on salads all summer. Your galette looks great!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

