What’s in a name?

Happy Wednesday homies! Today, I thought I would explain the reasoning and choice behind the name, Collections of a Wanderer.

Here’s a bit of backstory:

It was the summer of 2008. I was in Denton, Texas at the University of North Texas attending a transfer student orientation. I had just attained my Associates from a local community college and had big dreams to get my B.A. In what you may ask? I had NO clue. That day I chose Journalism, specifically Public Relations. I chose this on a whim. I had been pressured by family and friends to figure out my studies for months and I was still lost. Business? Eww. Science or Math? Yeah, right! English? What the hell do you do with an English degree? Communications? Too broad of a subject for me. I was curious about journalism so that was that. Two years were spent dissecting the public relations and media industry and I’ve come to the conclusion that I’M STILL LOST.

I graduated in December 2010 and I sit here wondering what I’m doing.

What does this have to do with the title of this blog? Everything. I’ve come to realize that I have no idea what I’m doing. I have no idea where I want my career to go or where I see myself in 5 years (I hate that interview question). Aren’t we supposed to have some sort of plan? Or some sort of foundation to work on?  To this day, I wonder if Public Relations was the right degree choice for me. I genuinely enjoy the industry, but I’m confused on where I go from there.

So, I’ve become a bit of a wanderer. Not geologically speaking. I lead an unsettled life. I don’t fit in a mold and I don’t follow someone else’s life. I’ve struggled with this because I strongly believe my parents always had a specific plan for me. I’ll have you know, I didn’t follow that plan AT ALL. I’ve veered so far off that path that I think I’ve actually swayed their perceptions of what they wanted for me. I think that’s a good thing.

I (in my opinion) think I don’t have a clue what I’m doing. I have so many dreams and goals that if I sit and think about them for too long I’ll immediately have a panic attack.  I want to inspire, create, build, enlighten my world around me and the people in it. I want to do things for the greater good. I want to leave this earth knowing I made it just a little bit better.

So, with that said, I’ve created this space (blog title and all) to help someone wander with me and know that you (the MANY readers of mine) aren’t alone.

I must remember this:

So, I’m going to do what I love. I’m going to blog, write, cook, create, build, travel and achieve everything I’ve ever wanted and more. This blog is here to publish my life’s wandering moments because those moments are fleeting and precious. I may not have my stuff “together,” but I’ve got dreams, darn it! I’m going to “wander” through life with vigor, spunk and curiosity. Won’t you do the same?

2 comments
  1. Thank you for sharing. Very well said. And “This is you life” is one of my favorite mantra’s. I re-read it often.

    • Yeah, I see it on Pinterest all the time and it’s a great reminder for sure. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

