Eat your vegetables!

Goodbye weekend. Hello workweek. *sigh*

To start this fine day off right, I have a delicious side dish to share with you today. When I was younger, my parents were always feeding us vegetables. One of my favorites is acorn squash. I think I liked it so much as a kid because brown sugar and syrup were added to it. What kid wouldn’t want to mix sugar and vegetables?

So, the other night I made some acorn squash.

You’ll need:
Acorn squash (halved)
Unsalted butter (sliced)
Brown sugar
Honey

Directions:
Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Cut the acorn squash in half. This is much harder than it sounds. I ended up calling on Mr. Muscles to cut them. Scoop out the seeds. In a cake pan, add a 1/2 inch of water and place the squash, skin side down, in the pan. Add a sliver of butter to each squash bowl. Add some brown sugar, too. There’s no real measurements to this recipe. I like easy. Finally, drizzle some honey on top of the butter and brown sugar. Place in oven and cook for an hour and a half. After about an hour and fifteen minutes, add a little extra brown sugar to the squash bowl. Continue to cook for an additional 10-15 minutes. Immediately, take out and dig in!

Leave a Reply

