Good Eats: The Breakfast Skillet

Okay, question. Who likes breakfast for dinner? ME ME ME. And hopefully YOU YOU YOU.

In our home, we love breakfast. We love eggs, bacon, sausage, pancakes, french toast. The list could go on for a while.

A while back, my step-dad made a fritata. It’s sausage, cheese and bacon with scrambled eggs cooked in the oven. How’s that for an explanation? Of course, the ingredients are interchangeable. I learned that day that I DO NOT like baked eggs of any kind. I don’t like fritatas and I don’t like quiches. Considering this, I wanted to make a variation of it, so I threw together a breakfast skillet. It’s become comfort food in our home. We absolutely love it. We top it with hot sauce and ketchup. Sounds gross? It’s so freakin yummy.

Check it out:

You’ll need:
1 lb of sausage
2 large potatoes (or 4-5 small potatoes)
2 Tbsp olive oil
6 eggs
1 green bell pepper
1 onion
Old Bay seasoning
salt and pepper

Peel and cut potatoes. Place potatoes in a deep skillet with olive oil. Cook until edges of potatoes are golden. Continuously flip potatoes for even cooking. Season with Old Bay seasoning. Once potatoes are softened and cooked, place on a plate and set aside. In the same skillet, brown the sausage. During the browning, chop the onion and green pepper. In a separate skillet, scramble eggs. When browning of the meat is complete, add potatoes, pepper, onion and eggs. Add salt and pepper to taste. Stir and enjoy.

I’ll tell you right now this isn’t a difficult recipe and I’m no professional cook. I just like to cook and sometimes it’s not the most glamorous meals, but they are darn tootin delicious. I call this the poor man’s meal because the number of ingredients is low and the amount you’ll spend is even lower. And the cool thing is you can throw these into tortillas and have some awesome breakfast burritos. I don’t do that because the potatoes are enough carbs for me. Hope you like it!

2 comments
  1. This looks great. Such a simple recipe, but excellent results. For the health conscious folks out their you can always use a breakfast turkey sausage and egg whites instead. By the way, what kind of camera are you using for this pictures? It is so clear and focused.

    • I’ve actually used turkey sausage. I love using ground turkey for lots of different recipes. Much healthier than red meat. Egg whites would be a good idea, too. I use a Canon Rebel XTi and currently the photos are edited in picnik/picasa. Some edits are done in Photoshop as well.

Leave a Reply

