Tuesdays with Dorie: Rugelach

Here’s to my very first Tuesdays with Dorie post. Lets get it started.

Rugelach. What in the world is it and how do you pronounce it? From what I read and baked, it’s a pastry rolled and filled with fruit filling, dried fruit and nuts. I was a bit skeptical with this recipe. I haven’t had very good luck with dough, pastries or fondant. They just aren’t my friend. I tried making a cake covered in fondant a while back. That shiz was annoying to handle. I would either roll it out too thin and get holes or it would be too thick. And then you must dust it with flour to prevent sticking. I suck at that, too.

Anyway, so my rugelach basically took a super long time to prepare and make. I spent about 5 hours making the homemade cream cheese dough, making the apricot levkar and forming all the rolls. Most of these hours were spent “chilling” the dessert. I made the dough and let it harden in the refrigerator for two hours. During this time, I made the apricot levkar. Something went wrong with the measurements and I have a TON left over in my fridge. Does anyone know what I should do with the leftovers? Spread it on toast? After two hours, I rolled out the dough. The first two rolls (there were four total) I didn’t put enough flour down. So, of course, after filling all the dough, I struggled to peel the dough off the counter. Luckily, the dough didn’t rip too badly. I used dates and raisins as part of my filling. This was a good choice. Other options are prunes and figs. The rest of the filling consists of nuts. I used pecans, walnuts and almond slices. The fourth and final roll consisted of no nuts so that Joe could have some of my fancy shmancy dessert. *He can’t eat nuts for digestive reasons.*

So, the rugelach was rolled and filled Friday night and I allowed it to harden and set until morning. Saturday morning, I took the four rolls out and cut them about an inch wide. I got between 9-11 pieces with each roll. After pre-heating the oven and placing parchment down on the cookie sheets, I was ready for some rugelach baking. Popped those babies in and about 30 minutes later got these beauties.

My first batch I thought I burned them, but after a taste test I realized the bottoms were just caramelized and gooey. Yummy! The apricot spread, dried fruit and nuts pairs really well. They turned out really great.

You want the recipe? Margaret from the Urban Hiker and Jessica from My Baking Heart are hosting this weeks recipe. Go check them out!

8 comments
    • I was so nervous they wouldn’t turn out. The apricot levkar was a good choice. I’m not a huge fan of prunes. I have a ton leftover so I’m trying to come up with ways to use it.

  1. They look great! I was thinking of doing something cinnamon bun-ny with all my leftover prune jam.

  2. Cher said:

    They look good.
    I made half batches of the lekvars and still ended up with more than the stated qty for the full batch… I have been enjoying leftovers on toast. They would also be good rolled into a bread as a swirl or as a filling on a pastry. Or you could just eat them from the jar with a spoon like I did 😉

    • Haha great ideas! I guess I just need to grab a spoon and dig in.

  3. Lauren's Plate said:

    Sorry you had such a tough time, next time it will be better. So the dough doesn’t stick, either a piece of saran or parchment on the counter to rolll the dough. Then you can place it on a sheet pan and chill for 10 min if it gets too soft. Other thanthat…nice photos.

    • Dough can be tricky. I learn something about it every time I make it. Thanks for the tips!

Leave a Reply

