Invisible Children – Kony 2012

Alright, I must say I was fairly inactive with Invisible Children until I saw this video.

Watch it! Now, I’m fired up!

I know several people that have been a part of Invisible Children for years. In a simple nutshell, Invisible Children works to prevent eliminate the abduction and forced enlistment of children by the Lord’s Resistance Army (LRA) in Africa. Innocent children are being abducted from their homes, given guns and forced to do terrible acts of violence under the power of Joseph Kony, the leader of the LRA. What’s their reasoning behind this? Kony simply wants power. How gross is that?

The Kony 2012 campaign/movement has been established to make Kony famous. The idea is to raise awareness in his arrest and bring justice to the African people.

Here’s what you can do to help:

Pledge. “Joseph Kony is one of the world’s worst war criminals and I support the international effort to arrest him, disarm the LRA and bring the child soldiers home.” You can simply sign the pledge in support of bringing these children soldiers home. I did.

Take action. Buy the Action Kit and participate on April 20, 2012 for Cover the Night. The Action Kit includes lots of memorabilia for you to spread awareness and make Kony famous. It’s only $30 and you get a ton of great stuff in support: a t-shirt, a button, posters, a bracelet, stickers, etc. Cover the Night consists of using modern memorabilia to spread the word of Kony, one of the largest war criminals ever known. The event will take place at night where we can put up posters, stickers and other memorabilia so that when the morning comes the people of the world will see the change that this great organization is striving for.

“The rest of the world will go to bed Friday night and wake up to hundreds of thousands of posters demanding justice on every corner”

Donate. The simple act of donation is a great way to get involved as well.

Get in touch with a cultural figure or policy maker. People like Lady Gaga, George Clooney, Oprah Winfrey, Bill Clinton and Mitt Romney are getting involved with Kony 2012. You can write to these influencers about what your doing to spread the word or how you’ve impacted your community with Kony 2012. I’m sure they’ll take any questions you have, too.

WHO ARE YOU TO END A WAR? WHO ARE YOU NOT TO?

I want to tell you something that irked me today. I was visiting all the Facebook pages related to this movement and I found a comment (and I didn’t take a screenshot of it, sorry) that upset me. To paraphrase, he said:

Um, hello?! You all do realize this war has been going on since 1988. If you’re only learning about this now then you’re a (not so nice name I won’t repeat).

Why does it matter when we all learned about this terrible war? Isn’t it about making peace? Isn’t it about coming together as a society and making a difference? Some people can just be so arrogant. Yes, I decided to take action recently, but that doesn’t mean that I can’t make a difference and help NOW. Why be so close minded?

So, I’ve pledged and I’ve bought the Action Kit. I’ll buy some extra posters, too. On April 20th, I’ll be in Amsterdam. I’ll be an American in Amsterdam fighting for a cause in Africa. Mind blown, right? I’ll be wearing IC/Kony 2012 propaganda as well as putting up posters and stickers. I’ll be spreading the word. Won’t you join me?

I have to express my gratitude to the bloggers that are trying to spread awareness as well: Janeth from omgitsjaneth, Kristen from Whiskey Tango Foxtrot, Chelsea from the Collegebook, and Mike and Jess from Mike & Jess in Malta. I’m sure there are hundreds more!

1 comment
  1. you are a gem. you are going to do wonderful things amber. we need more people like u.

Leave a Reply

