Good Eats: Olive Oil & Herb Chicken

Did you notice the title doesn’t say, “Friday Favorites?” I’m really not that crazy about the series and I’m not quite sure any of you are either. So, I’m doing away with it. I had other posts that I could write, but I didn’t want to be forced to do it just because it’s a series. It’s my blog and I’ll do what I want with it darn it!

Anyway.

Last night, I made a whole chicken. I know that it’s smarter to buy the whole chicken than just the chicken pieces. Plus, now we’ll have LOTS of leftovers.

Let’s get the show on the road.

Get yourself:
1 whole chicken
2 Tbsp of olive oil
1 Tbsp basil
1/2 tbsp rosemary
1 tsp black pepper
lemon juice

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Take out those nasty innards and throw them away. Rinse the chicken under some running water. Rub the chicken with the olive oil, basil, rosemary and black pepper. Place on either a roasting pan or vertical poultry roaster. Spritz the chicken with lemon juice. Yes, I said spritz. Cook in the oven for an hour and half or until the internal temperature reaches 180 degrees. Once it is finished, let it rest for 10 minutes. Enjoy!

I have no idea how to properly cut a chicken like this. I wanted to arrange some pieces and take pretty pictures but I was butchering this poor thing. I’m much better at dancing with a raw chicken in the kitchen while waving his little wings and singing “Heyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy!” Yes, that’s me. And I have to say I’ve never actually handled a whole chicken before. Oh don’t look so surprised. I’m a novice cook, remember?

You get a picture of my dinner.

Spinach salad with grape tomatoes, walnuts and balsamic vinaigrette.
Half of a baked potato with a little butter and plain greek yogurt.
And of course the chicken.

Sorry the photos aren’t the most glamorous. I have a full-time job that limits my extracurricular time. Forgive me.

Have a wonderful Friday everyone!

2 comments
  1. onmywaytohappiness said:

    Haha…did you learn that buying the whole chicken was better from Anderson? 😉

    • No, I’ve known about it for a while. I was just a smidge scared of the entire freakin chicken. I mean seriously?! The neck is included. ewwwwww.

Leave a Reply

