My Kitchen Nightmares

I start your Monday off with a story. A story of cooking and lots of pain. Actually, I have several stories. Stories that attest to paying close attention.

Story 1: Last week, I was in the mood for some brownies. I had my mind set on black bean brownies. Sounds weird, right? Well, that’s why I wanted to try it. So, I loaded up my kitchen counter of all my needed ingredients and set off to make some killer brownies. About 20 minutes later, I sat down to wait for those delicious brownies to bake. Not 15 seconds after sitting down did I realize I completely forgot to add the sugar. Crap! I had added a ton of semi-sweet chocolate so I was hoping maybe that would make up for it. Nope. Nope. Nope. It tasted terrible. Fail.

Story 2: Friday night, I wanted to whip up some chicken enchiladas with the leftover chicken from the whole chicken I had made the night before. I made the enchilada sauce from scratch and felt pretty confident. They came out looking great, full of flavor and super cheesy. One bite and I knew. They were too spicy. All the spices didn’t mix well. See, I like flavorful food. I believe I had a moment of “all spices make for a great mix.” No, no they don’t. Joe said they weren’t bad and ended up eating two of them. I just couldn’t finish my portion. They looked good, but didn’t taste too great. Fail 2.

Story 3: Here’s the kicker. I had been wanting to make some homemade salsa for quite some time. I had recently bought a food processor. I was all set. The first step was to cut up the onion. Just a rough chop. The food processor would do the rest. I was about half way through with the onion when I sliced my finger wide open. Yes, I made a huge mistake and let my fingers get in the way of my chopping. My left index finger took the damage. No one was home. There was about 20 minutes of panic as I waited for Joe to get home with my mother trying to help me over the phone. Joe came home and I knew he wanted to see the damage. So, I gently lifted the paper towel. “Yep, we gotta go,” was all he said. After 2 hours, 2 numbing needles and 8 stitches later, I was ready to get out of the ER and get some food. We decided to forget about the salsa for the time being and go out for dinner. Fuzzy’s, the awesome taco shop, seriously helped with the pain. I love their shredded garlic beef tacos.

These issues have certainly thrown a wrench into my cooking this week, but I won’t be deterred. I’ll keep at it. You just may not get any recipes this week. The best part is I’m not supposed to submerge my finger in any water. This means the dishes are out of the question. Woohoo! I know Joe is super thrilled about this.

Oh and my finger isn’t the only place I have stitches right now. I had a cyst removed on my back a week ago. I’ve got three stitches. *Sigh* I just can’t catch a break. I’ll be back in fighting shape in no time though.

I will make those brownies and salsa. And I’ll make sure you guys see how successful the second rounds turn out.

Hope you all have a great Monday. It’s a new week and I’m ready to put last week behind me.

2 comments
  1. Yeah, that left index finger can take a beating. Watch the professionally-trained chefs on TV and notice they crunch their fingers up when chopping. I haven’t mastered that technique yet.

    Please share that black bean brownie recipe–it sounds intriguing. Here’s a tip to keep from forgetting ingredients: I pre-measure everything into little cups and bowls and line them all up on the counter in the order specified in the recipe. It does mean you get all the dishes dirty, but at least you aren’t running to the store halfway through the recipe because you forgot something, or worse, dealing with your problem.

    Happy cooking–and eating!

    • I need those little glass bowls they always have on fancy cooking shows. I’ll be checking out YouTube today for some proper cutting techniques. I must be doing something wrong.

Leave a Reply

