Good Eats: Lunch Edition

Hey guys! Hope you all had a good day. I’m proud to say I just made a fantastic batch of salsa without hurting myself. BONUS! Sorry this wasn’t up earlier. I wasn’t feeling too great this morning.

On Monday, I worked from home while trying to relax and recover from all the weekend excitement. I must say, working in your pajamas is pretty nice. I worked away until about 1 when it was time for some lunch. I had some whole wheat tortillas and I was off to make something delicious.

Looks good, right? And the best part is there was minimal knife usage. This was definitely right up my ally!

Turkey wraps with cream cheese cucumber spread:

1 tortilla
3 slices of turkey breast deli meat (I use Hormel. These have less sodium and more protein.)
2 oz of softened cream cheese
1/3 cup chopped cucumbers
1 slice pepper jack cheese
a handful of spinach

Roughly chop one half of a cucumber and chop/puree in a food processor for 10-15 seconds. You can hand cut them, but I was going with almost a cucumber puree. In a small bowl, mix together the 1/3 cup cucumbers and 2 oz of cream cheese. I had leftover cucumbers and you’ll have leftover spread when your done. Yummy! Form your tortilla. I started with the spread, added the spinach, cheese and finally the turkey. I added a small amount of spread to one side of the end of the tortilla so the wrap would stay together. All done!

I’ll use the extra spread for some crackers and more wraps. I just recently started cooking with cucumbers. I wasn’t a fan of them when I was younger. I really enjoy them now. Isn’t it weird how your taste buds change as you get older?

5 comments
  1. This looks so good! Did you find a recipe for that cucumber puree or just decide to whip it up yourself? Either way that is a good idea and looks so yummy. I’m going to try this out.

    • I made that myself. I thought about adding a little bit of cilantro to it, too. It was really good. It’s a little spin to the boring mayo.

      • Nice. I’m going to make it. Do you think it would taste good with Greek Yogurt?

      • Oh I’m sure it would. Just try it. I love experimenting in the kitchen.

  2. jkofron4 said:

    I don’t like mayo, this sounds really good. thanks

Leave a Reply

