The salsa that nearly killed me

Okay, “killed” may be a little strong. Perhaps, “this crazy salsa almost left me with only nine fingers” works better. If you have no idea what I’m talking about, go back and read this. It’s a doozy of a blog post.

I’ll wait…

Now, check out what I accomplished!

BAM!

Only days after I sliced my finger open from attempting homemade salsa, I officially kicked this salsa where the sun don’t shine. This salsa is so fresh and definitely beats out any Picante brand salsa. The great thing about salsa is it can be made so many different ways. I must say though, my version is pretty good.

You’ll need:

1 large onion
1 green pepper
2 tomatoes
I can diced tomatoes (I used Hunts with basil, garlic and oregano)
1 can green chilies
3-4 green onion stalks/bushels (chopped)
2 garlic cloves
1 heaping tablespoon cilantro
1 teaspoons red pepper flakes
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1/2 of a lime
salt and pepper to taste

Roughly chop the onion and green pepper. Combine the onion, green pepper, green chilies, green onions, garlic cloves and red pepper flakes in a food processor. Chop for a rough 5 seconds. I did this in batches and mixed everything in a large bowl. Once these ingredients are chopped and added to the bowl, add the garlic powder. Roughly chop the two tomatoes. In the food processor add the two tomatoes and can of diced tomatoes and chop for a few seconds. Add to the bowl and mix well. Roughly chop the cilantro and add to the salsa. Squeeze the lime and add salt and pepper to taste. Grab some chips and chow down!

I didn’t make it spicy. I was really going for the freshness. I definitely succeed on that. You can always add cayenne pepper, jalapenos or hot sauce to spice things up.

P.S. I get my stitches taken out today! So ready to be done with this debauchery of a healing finger process. Got that? Debauchery I tell ya!

3 comments
  1. This looks yummy. I always look forward to reading your posts. I get super excited when my inbox says you posted a new entry. :). Did you take these pictures yourself? The bottom one looks like something they would advertise for in a restaurant.

    • Thanks! Yeah I took them myself. I set up a tiny studio on my patio outside. Natural lighting does wonders. 🙂

      • That’s amazing. All your pictures look so professional. Unfortunately, my boyfriend and I have a big tree in front of our patio, so we don’t get much natural light. :(. Keep up the good recipe ideas. I can’t to buy all the ingredients to try them all. Thanks for subscribing. 🙂 You’re my first and only one, lol .

Leave a Reply

