TWD: Irish Soda Bread

I’ve got another recipe under my belt. This bread was really good and extremely simple to make with only four ingredients. I stuck to the recipe, but you can always add dried fruit, cinnamon or chocolate. I thought about trying a second version, but since it’s just Joe and I, we would have a TON of leftover bread to scarf down.

How delicious does this look?

I loved how easy this was to make considering the rugelach took so much time. I spent ten minutes preparing the dough and it baked in the oven for 50 minutes. I ended up doing some cleaning while it baked. I loved that our apartment smelled of fresh bread, one of the best smells next to office supplies and onions. Yes, I love those smells. Ha!

How about adding some butter or apricot lekvar? And now that I think about it, add some Nutella! As you can see, I used my leftover apricot jam from the rugelach. It was darn tootin’ delicious.

The recipe suggests to let the bread completely cool before cutting. I tried to hold off, but eventually my mouth was salivating for some buttery Irish soda bread. Who doesn’t love warm bread? It’s the greatest comfort food known to man.

So, I ate some while I was taking pictures. No more holding back. Trust me. If you were in my place, you’d be grabbing for a bite, too. Even Joe was ready for a piece as soon as I took it out of the oven.

I made some spaghetti and meatballs for dinner. I grabbed the garlic, butter and cheese and made these. Yum.

A big thanks to Carla from Chocolate Moosey and Cathy of My Culinary Mission for hosting this weeks recipe. Go check them out for the recipe.

10 comments
  1. Isn’t the smell of fresh bread the BEST?! I had to laugh at the fact that you like the smell of office supplies. 🙂 Too funny. I’m so glad you enjoyed your bread! And found a way to use up some of the leftover Rugelach components!

    • Doesn’t everyone have that slightly strange smell that you absolutely love?! Haha. Thanks so much for stopping by.

  2. Raelynn said:

    You’re bread looks so good!! 🙂

  3. Teresa said:

    You made good use of this bread! Great idea to use it as a side for your spaghetti dinner. Nothing like cheesy, garlicky, bread.

  4. Cher said:

    This was definitely a welcome addition after the rugelach!
    Very good use for the bread.

Leave a Reply

