Good Eats: Black Bean Brownies Three Ways

I FINALLY accomplished black bean brownies. I say finally because if you remember the last time I attempted them, I accidentally omitted the sugar. Oops! Not good.

In my quest to find a healthy excuse to shovel chocolate down my pie hole, I came across something extraordinary. You can put beans in desserts and they give you protein! Whoa! I know. Deep breaths. On a serious note, beans are the cheapest way for someone to receive their daily protein. Plus, they’re just so darn yummy.

I grabbed my can of black beans and went to town.

I ended up with three different topping ideas for these and thought I would share them with you.

A basic brownie with yummy powdered sugar doused on top. The more the sugar, the better. C’mon guys! There are beans in these bad boys so its gotta be healthy, right? Yummy.

Mmmmm. Holla!

A la mode, anyone? Now, wipe that drool off the side of your face. You’re embarrassing me.

Brownies, caramel and candied nuts! Nothing beats it. I love the huge chunk of chocolate up in herrr. So delicious!

So, you wanna know how to make these, do ya? Well, here we go:

Ingredients:
1 15 oz can black beans, drained and rinsed thoroughly (The brainchild of this recipe)
3/4 cup sugar (Don’t forget this)
1/2 cup cocoa powder, unsweetened
3 eggs
3 Tbsp Canola oil
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 tsp baking powder
4 blocks (half a package) of Bakers semi-sweet chocolate (roughly chopped)

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and grease an 8×8 inch baking pan with cooking spray

2. In a food processor, pulse the black beans. Pulse until smooth.

3. In a large bowl, combine black beans, sugar, cocoa powder, eggs, canola oil, vanilla extract and baking powder. Stir until well combined and smooth.

*Side note: You could decrease the amount of chocolate to just 2 blocks, but I LOVE chocolate. This may have been counter productive to the health benefits of the beans. Sigh.

4. Fold in the chocolate until well combined.

5. Pour into the baking pan.

6. Bake for approximately 30 minutes. Do the toothpick test to make sure the center is done. I suggest you let it cool before diving into it, but I’d be a hypocrite if I told you to wait.

Caramel Nut Topping:

You’ll need:
1/4 cup each of 3 varieties of nuts, roughly chopped (I used walnuts, pecans, and slivered almonds)
2 Tbsp of butter (melted)
2 Tbsp of sugar
2 Tbsp of brown sugar
caramel

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a medium bowl, combine the nuts, butter, sugar and brown sugar. Place on a baking sheet and bake for 8 minutes. Take out of the oven and let cool. When you want to use it as a topping, simply mix the nut mixture and caramel together until desired consistency/quantity. Top over any dessert and enjoy.

Nom nom nom.

Review: These brownies were delicious. I thought they tasted like I had used dark chocolate instead of semi-sweet. I know other variations consist of coffee. I didn’t like that idea. These are great in small portions. I’ll be making these again. I also liked that I could avoid using flour. Let me know if you guys try them.

Leave a Reply

