Europe or Bust

If I haven’t told you already, I’m off to Europe in one week! A week from today, I’ll be hopping on a plane and making my way to a place I’ve been dreaming of for years. I thought to commemorate the occasion I would introduce you to a bit of my itinerary. My trip takes off on April 11th and we arrive back in the Dallas metroplex on April 22nd. I’ve got ten days with my two lovely besties.

“I’m leavin on a jet plane. Don’t know when I’ll be back again…” Couldn’t resist a bit of John Denver before we started.

Without further ado, our first stop is…

{Drum roll please}

London! Okay, some of you may have already known that and the rest of my destinations if you’ve kept up with this little blog, but just be surprised and humor me, k?

We’re spending the most days in London because there’s just so much to do there. Our list of things to see include Trafalgar Square, Buckingham Palace, Big Ben, the National Gallery and Tate Modern, as well as the Tower of London, House of Parliament, the London Eye and Kensington Palace. We’ve got tickets for a few awesome experiences as well. The first one is a day trip to Windsor Castle, Stonehenge and Oxford. I’m pretty excited about this one. We also have tickets to see Wicked at the Apollo Theatre. I want to really experience the London life. I want to eat fish and chips, drink the local beer, experience the royalty and take it all in. We’ll be staying in a quaint bed and breakfast just a few miles from central London.

Monday, April 16th, we’re off to…

Springtime in Paris that is. I studied French in high school and college, so I’m ready to put some of that to good use. Let’s hope I didn’t forget important phrases. My high school french teacher told us to always remember one phrase, “Ou sont les toilettes?” It means, “Where’s the bathroom?” It’s a good one, right? I think so.

Anyway. Paris is a beautiful city and I’m most excited about this part of the trip. Notre Dame, the Eiffel Tower, the Louvre, Musee d’Orsay, Champs Elysees, Arc de Triomphe, the Pont Alexandre bridge, the Basilique du Sacre Coeur. The list goes on for a while. We bought tickets to two places for this destination as well. First up is the glamorous Versailles. I’m greatly looking forward to the architecture. It’ll be just magnificent. Our second tour is a Seine River cruise and Paris canals tour. It was pretty cheap and we thought it would be a nice alternative way to see the city.

Our final stop on this journey takes us to…

Oh the canals of Amsterdam! So pretty. I want to visit the Rembrandt Museum, Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum. I want to see Anne Frank’s home and the Red Light District. I want to take a bike tour and visit the tulip festival they have during the spring. I’ll come back with a pair of clogs. I guarantee it!

I’m extremely excited and I know this will be something I’ll never forget.

I’m currently nursing some kind of something. Vague, I know. It’s not quite a cold, but I’m worried it may turn into a sinus infection. I can NOT get sick now. Ugh. I’ve been downing vitamin C, drinking green tea, eating soup and sucking on cough drops. Hopefully, that will do the trick.

I’m sorry my posts are a little wonky right now. I’m extremely busy with work, class, preparing for Europe and just doing the normal “life” chores and duties. Please bear with me during this time.

*Side note: I just looked up which “bear/bare” to use in the above sentence. I don’t ever remember using that phrase in the past. Honestly, I’m proud of myself. I try to be a good grammar dork.

Oh and if you guys have any places to recommend, I’d be happy to hear from you. Send me an email or tweet.

Have a happy hump day, ya’ll!

Leave a Reply

