SSSStressing: A Work in Progress

May I be honest with you? I’m struggling with the bloggity lately.

I want to apologize for falling off the blogging wagon. I’ve been extremely stressed. So stressed and busy that I wasn’t able to make my Tuesday with Dorie recipe, Pizza Rustica, this past week.

It all really started with an email. An email that mentioned an upcoming presentation that I would have to host, organize and present for a  potential client. Selling? Gah! My brain immediately goes into overdrive thinking of all the possible things that must be accomplished leading up to the big presentation. I had five days to plan the presentation that would take place on Monday at 9:30 a.m.

I must confess that I stress and worry when a situation like this arises. I’m notorious for thinking of the worst possible scenario and running with it. I’m not a pessimist. I’m just very aware of what could go wrong. See, if I find the worst case scenario I can find the best possible solution to completely demolish that scenario. Got me?

Be prepared kids.

That’s the lesson.

So, I began working on the PowerPoint first. I arranged the webinar meeting. I wrote up a script and worked on it for four hours Sunday afternoon. Luckily, I wouldn’t be in front of my audience, so I could essentially read my script and hope I didn’t sound like I was reading.

Sunday, I went to bed confident and stress-free. I woke up Monday and did the presentation with no nerves. I’ve always had this sort of mentality. Even in college, I would prepare and stress for a presentation and when the time came to present I was never nervous. I think I do this because my thought process is it’s now or never and it’s really now so screw it and just do it. Just do it.

Monday evening, I had class. I’m in a Google AdWords class right now working towards my Internet Marketing Certificate. This is my third class with three more to go.

Anyway, all afternoon and into the evening a migraine began to fester. Festering migraines are the absolute worst. Migraines are in my family with my mom getting the true brunt of it. She gets them a few times a year and they consist of vomiting, sensitivity to light and dehydration. There has been on more than one occasion where she ended up in the hospital for it. I was experiencing about the same thing – minus the vomiting. {We are told by our doctor that the best way to handle migraines is to figure out what triggers them and avoid those triggers at all cost.} I know my trigger is stress. I left class early in the hopes of curling up in my bed as soon as I got home.

Instead, I had to go to the grocery store. We were really low on fruit and veggies and I just can’t have that. I went to bed that night exhausted. I woke up Tuesday morning with the headache gone but by the end of the work day, I wasn’t feeling well.

Here’s what I believe has happened. I stressed myself out so much last week that I weakened my immune system. I believe I’m either fighting a sinus infection or my allergies have kicked in to full force. Scratchy throat, sneezing, headache and ears feel uncomfortable. You get that feeling? With your ears I mean?

I’m just a mess.

My home is a complete disaster with dishes and clothes everywhere. My Mondays and Wednesdays are spent working and going to class. That’s it. Other days I come home from work and workout, make dinner, write blog posts, take pictures, clean, prepare for Europe, etc. I don’t want to complain, but I’m wearing myself pretty thin. I’m always wanting to go, go, go and I end up paying the price. I like it that way though, but a re-balance is in order.

Here’s what I need to learn. I need to work on de-stressing my life and finding ways to make certain things easier, like organizing the apartment so I can actually find things. I don’t think I’ll ever stop stressing and worrying about the future, but I’ve realized I need to work on it. I can’t be the only one out there that has this same situation.

I’m currently chugging green tea, sucking on lozenges, eating soup and taking Airborne all in the hopes of kicking this crap before I leave next week. I took a zyrtec in the hopes of relieving some symptoms and it’s helped. Cross every appendage, eyeball and  digits possible in the hopes I’m 100% healthy in the next couple days.

When I get back from Europe, I’ll be putting together some organizational projects in the hopes of making my life just a little bit stress free. I want to be doing a lot of things in my life, but I need to organize myself so that I don’t end up in the situation I’m in right now. I did just buy a calendar to write down my to-do list and blog ideas. I’m a work in progress really.

Sorry about the lack of images. I don’t really know how to photograph stress. Does the hot pink text make up for it?

Man! I started this post by apologizing and finishing it the same way. Boo.

Have a lovely Thursday, homefrys!

Leave a Reply

