TWD: Oasis Naan

Naaa na. Na na naaaa na. Hey hey hey. Goodbye. Alright don’t get your panties in a wad. You didn’t think I’d leave you all fine folks, did ya?

Anywhozzle!

It’s (finally) time for another Tuesdays with Dorie: Baking with Julia. This weeks recipe is Oasis Naan.

I love bread. I love that it’s so versatile. You can eat it whenever, wherever and however you wish.

You can eat it for dinner.

You can eat it on a binder.

You can slather it with jam.

Or eat it with your ham.

You can pair it with some honey.

Bread can be a little funny.

Maybe eat it with some coffee.

Although, I wouldn’t pair it with caramel toffee.

Okay. All kidding (and rhyming) aside, this recipe involved dough. Duh! I don’t like dough, but this recipe wasn’t too difficult. We have a love/hate relationship, dough and I. It does require sesame seeds and caraway seeds. I incorporated neither in this recipe due to digestive reasons. After the substitution, the naan became pizza shaped bread with a cumin and salt topping. I’m okay with that. Joe approved, too. Oh! I didn’t add scallions because I couldn’t find them at the store. I’m sure they were there. I’ve never cooked with scallions. I’m an onion kinda girl. Did I divert too far from the recipe? Meh.

The recipe required baking stones. My at-home pizzeria missed the memo on this one. To substitute, the recipe said to use an inverted cookie sheet. I used a pizza pan with holes. It worked well.

My big freak out moment came when 6 minutes was up on my timer. I turned on the oven light and checked out my naan with eager anticipation. The naan didn’t look done. It was pretty poofy and white. At 500 degrees Fahrenheit, I didn’t want to leave it in too long. I’m not a fan of rock hard bread. I am a fan of rock hard abs.

It’s not the most prettiest bread, but it was pretty darn tasty. It dries out quickly and the bread poofed up a little more then I would have liked, but I’m satisfied.

To make this fantastical naany naan, head on over to Always Add More Butter from Maggie and Of Cabbages & King Cakes by Phyl. Go make it! Maybe you’ll get rock hard abs. My money is on a six pack after 4 of these babies.

8 comments
  1. Mine poofed up a lot too in spite of poking lots with a fork. It seems like a lot of people’s naan did this. Glad yours turned out well for you, hopefully your relationship with dough was one of love this time πŸ˜€

    • Yes, there was love in that dough! This time! πŸ™‚

  2. I haven’t baked mine yet, but I will soon. Can’t wait to see how it turns out. Love your rhymes :).

  3. Ckay said:

    This was a delicious kitchen poetry!
    Funny & lovely rhymes…. and tasty naans

  4. Alice said:

    looks like you had fun with both the bread and the write up! πŸ™‚

  5. Cher said:

    Fun write up πŸ™‚ And I agree – rock hard abs over rock hard bread any day…

Leave a Reply

