TWD: French Strawberry Cake

I think my stand mixer is still recovering from this past weekends french strawberry cake marathon. It was a doozy. It was 26.2 million whirly whirls of whipped delight.

And, man! My stand mixer deserves a medal. You take sugar, eggs and a dash of salt and let your precious stand mixer do the rest. The recipe says it should take about 4-5 minutes to triple in size. Um, try like 10 minutes. I shut my poor mixer off (to test for those infamous “ribbons”) three times so it could cool down. Joe’s family bought me a beautiful 6-quart mixer last year for Christmas and I don’t plan on breaking it ANY time soon. YOU HEAR THAT, FRENCH STRAWBERRY CAKE?

And I think I seriously dominated.

Except for one little hiccup.

Do you notice anything different or off about this cake? I ask that question to the fellow TWD bloggers, really. See, there was one thing I didn’t really do by the book. The recipe called for the batter to be poured into an 8 inch round spring form pan. I have a 9 inch round spring form pan. And I was not about to make a trip to buy one. No sirree!

So, I did a little improvisation and I think it turned out marvelously.

Pretty lookin, huh?

Because of my little hiccup, I couldn’t slice the cake horizontally three ways. I didn’t even feel safe cutting it in half horizontally. It was meant to be layered as shown in the photos then completely frosted. It was meant to be topped with frosting rosettes and some strawberry garnishes. At least I got the strawberry garnish, right?

It ended up being my own little creation. Who says you have to follow the rules anyway?

Here’s the thing. I don’t know if it was because I let the cake rest for a day before assembling or I whipped the batter too much, but the cake ended up being pretty dry. I get the cake is meant to be a little spongy so it can sop up all that delicious strawberry juice, but I just wasn’t sold on it. I read through several comments from the genoise batter post and it seems like some people had problems with deflation. With so much folding going on with flour and melted butter, it’s possible that the final batter just wimped out.

For all that work (my mixer did), I don’t think this recipe was entirely worth it. I doubt I’ll make it again. It was a good attempt nonetheless. And the photos turned out really well!

For the full recipe and to try it yourself, visit Sophia at Sophia’s Sweets and/or Allison at Sleep Love Think Dine.

Side note: Because Joe is unable to eat anything with seeds, he was unable to partake in this little strawberry delight. So, I made him this to make up for it.

Mmmmm. Let’s all say it with me, Peanut Butter Pie!

Now my only dilemma is figuring out what to do with leftover mushy strawberries and whipped cream. Any ideas?

8 comments
  1. You could always pour it on some pancakes or waffles. Or buy some vanilla ice cream and some chocolate syrup and then incorporate it into that and make your own strawberry ice cream. Or strawberry shake, put the ice cream into the blender (if you have one) with the strawberries and whipped cream and ice. “Strawberries and Cream” shake!

  2. Such gorgeous pictures of your strawberry cake! However, I’m drooling over the peanut butter pie in the last photo. It looks so yummy! 🙂

    • Yeah I’m missing it already! We polished it off last night.

  3. Cher said:

    Oh, i like the way you put this one together! I think it looks great.

  4. I like the square shape! Looks fantastic. I thought mine turned out pretty as well, but like you I was not impressed with the flavor. You can always throw the leftover fruit/cream in the blender and make a smoothie with additional fruit thrown in!

Leave a Reply

