Setting a Routine

I’ve heard it takes three weeks to get into a habit. For months, I’ve tried to work myself up into working out early in the morning. Some days, I feel really good and up for it while other days I’m exhausted and have little motivation to get out of bed at 5 a.m.

Since the morning routines weren’t working, after work routines were my next option. I’d come home around 5:30 p.m. and be in the gym by 6. I’d be back home around 7. After showering, I’d have to deal with dinner. Eating dinner around 8 isn’t always ideal, but it wasn’t horrible. The problem was I hated the in-between times that I was losing. The time it takes to drive home and get dressed had me losing about an hour of time.

To combat that hour I was losing with the commute home and getting my workout clothes on, I found a better solution that should work.

My new job has some nice benefits. The office building is an 8-story building consisting of mostly Wells Fargo employees. The lower level has a cafeteria and lounge area as well as a fitness center, my favorite part. I checked it out on Friday and decided that this place would be my new best friend.

Here’s my plan:

  • Get off work at 5 p.m.
  • Head to the fitness center
  • Workout for an hour
  • Be home by 6:30 p.m.

I gain that hour back from previously driving home and changing. The other plus is I don’t have to worry about rush hour traffic. Hopefully, it’ll all be clear by the time I head home around 6 p.m.

I have a really good feeling about this. I mean, the dang gym is a few floors away. All I have to do is bring my gym stuff and hit it hard. Done.

My mantra:

2 comments
  1. Whitney said:

    Good luck with your new routine. We have a fitness center at my job too and I love it. Sometimes I do a quick 30 min workout on my lunch 🙂

Leave a Reply

