Summer T.V.

I know I should be posting about barbecues, days at the lake and drinking by the pool considering it’s summer. I don’t like to be predictable.

Today, I bring you my favorite summer t.v. shows. Yes, this Texan (and Iowan) likes to enjoy her summers indoors in our dark cave living room. Plus, I’m Swedish. I don’t like this pale beautiful, milky skin to be out in the hot sun for too long. I don’t think I could rock sun spots and wrinkles.

I take that back. I’m not a fan of permanent leather.

Moving on. Let’s get to the good stuff.

So You Think You Can Dance

Season 9 kicked off a month ago with auditions all over the country. Yes, it’s a dance competition and it’s way cooler than Dancing with the Stars! Last night, the final top twenty contestants were chosen to be a part of the live show. They’re doing this season different because Mr. Big Buck$ in the Fox Channel offices decided to only give them one night a week instead of the typical two. How come American Idol gets three nights? There’s WAY too many singing shows.  Anyway, there will be two winners this year, a guy and a girl. I’m not crazy about this. The point is to compete and now the dancers only have to compete against their gender. This cuts the competition in half. It’ll be interesting to see how this change is implemented throughout the coming weeks.

I’m rooting for this kid. Cyrus.

Big Brother Season 14 returns to CBS on July 12th!

Okay, this is my trashy guilty pleasure. I got into this show a few seasons ago from a friend who LOVES this show. People are locked up in a house all summer with no outside influences (t.v., radio, movies, books, internet, etc.). The game is filled with crazy characters, feisty arguments, wit, trickery and secret alliances. And you can’t forget all the awesome, wacky games the producers of this show come up with. It’s so much awesome that the show gets three nights a week! Take that FOX!

Glee Project

You should all know that I absolutely love Glee. Take Glee and put a realty t.v. spin on it and you have the Glee Project. Ryan Murphy, the creator of Glee, wanted the characters to move on after they graduated high school. This meant fresh actors after a few years. That’s where the Glee Project comes in. Once again, it’s another competition. Take singing, acting and dancing and you get the triple threat. This is exactly what Ryan wanted. The winner or winners get roles on the show. The first season, four people got parts on the show. It’s an interesting concept to push current actors out to bring in new ones. We’ll see how that works out.

Wilfred

Wilfred premiered last week and FX seriously knows how to make my sarcastic-narcissistic alter ego very happy. It’s so weird that it’s so good. Get it? This is the only non-realty show I have on this list. Wilfred is about Ryan (Elijah Wood), a suicidal, unemployed lawyer who hangs out with his neighbors dog, Wilfred. The twist is that everyone around Ryan sees Wilfred as just a dog while he sees Wilfred as an Australian man in a dog suit. Ryan can’t decide if Wilfred is real or a part of his sub-conscience.

Since temperatures are well over the triple digits in Texas, settling in for some good, trashy t.v. is my oasis. What are your favorite shows during the summer?

Leave a Reply

