Suday Social: Big Questions

What is your dream job? I remember exclaiming to Joe a few months ago how nice it would be to make money doing my favorite hobby. I’m not entirely sure what my favorite hobby is but it sounds really nice. Read for a living? Blog for a living? Hmm. I wonder…

I received a B.A. in Public Relations. I’m quite content doing a job in PR or a related field. I’m currently in the Marketing field as a newbie, but if things progress I may find myself doing it long-term. We’ll see though.

I picture a dream job being something that doesn’t feel like a job and something that makes you happy. I’ve always said that if I can go home everyday knowing I helped make someone’s day a little easier then I’ve done my job.

If you had just won the lottery and didn’t need to work for money, what would you do with your time? I think once I paid off any outstanding bills and gave my parents enough money for them to retire, I think I would travel. I’d find ways to help other organizations around the U.S. and world and learn as much as possible. Experience can really round out a person. If you’re always hungry for more, you’ll find ways to educate and experience the world around you. Simple as that.

When you were a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up? According to artwork and homework assignments from my childhood that my mother still has in her house, I wanted to be a teacher. I’m not entirely sure why. At 23, I can’t imagine a room full of rugrats kids and being the driving force of their education. Whew! It’s too much for me. I give major props to those that are teachers. They are the ones shaping our future and we all know they deserve to be paid way more.

What piece of career advice would you give to someone just starting out in your field? For those still in college, intern for as many companies as possible. I interned for two different companies and I still didn’t think it was enough. Recognize when opportunities present themselves and take them up. For those fresh out of college (I may still be classified as such), continue learning skills well after you’ve left the classroom. You’ll look better on paper and you’ll have more opportunities in the long run. Constantly strive to find ways to better yourself personally and professionally. And don’t be afraid to ask questions or advice. I think I’m still working on that last one. We all have pitfalls. What matters is how you react, dust yourself off and get back up. Attitude is everything.

Biggest pet peeves? Leaving your turn signal on. Eating loudly (slurping, chomping). Lazy, unmotivated people. That mustang that’s always parked in my parking spot. Leftovers that aren’t eaten. Those people that use their speaker phone in public. That missing sock. Manpris (Man capris). People that wear too much cologne/perfume. Those baggers that don’t know how to properly bag at the grocery store. Um no! My english muffins do not go on the bottom! People that write “loose” when they really mean “lose.” I suppose this list could go on.

Biggest fears? Falling in the shower. Snakes. Anything that’s “pickled.” Finances. Taking life for granted (never want to do that).

Go link up with Neeley for this weeks Sunday Social.

Sunday Social

Leave a Reply

