Sirens and Double Chins

Well, ya can’t say I don’t try my darnest. Last night, the ole weatherman was forecasting some much needed rain. I had plans to get my butt out on the trail and nothing was going to stop me. I was out of the house and pounding the pavement by 7 p.m., the exact time the storm was meant to come through our town. Luckily, it stayed off for a good hour, but not until I nearly pissed my pants in absolute terror.

I was about 75% of the way through my run when I heard something you never want to hear while running. Sirens. They were loud and long and I started to get concerned that a tornado had been spotted and was headed our way. Craptastical! It was quite comical though when I saw a runner stop dead in his tracks to listen to the siren. Um, hey buddy! I’m booking it out of here. You should do the same. See ya!

I wanted to share this story because a year ago I would have seen the cloudy skies and made it the perfect excuse to snuggle up on the couch with a pint of ice cream and no motivation to workout. It’s just so good to feel good — even though while working it out I’m sweating like a banshee and praying that the torture will end.

Since I didn’t have much time to show you all, I wanted to share with ya’ll a few photos from the concert last weekend.

Note to self: This angle does not do me any favors. Double chin AND my bra showing.

Here’s the winner.

Double chins are no fun.

I should be out on a nice long run.

They are unappealing on me.

Working out and eating right are the key.

Bam!

This double chin charade happened with Joe as well, but I won’t torture you with the full nostril photo that occurred from yours truly. I’ll save it for another time.

Moving on to a man that certainly doesn’t have a double chin.

I can’t even tell you how awesome this concert was. Jason is such a talented musician. He brings not only his fantastic voice, but a band that killed it on stage. The show was filled with trumpets, trombones, harmonicas, percussion and so much more. It had such a perfect musicality to it.

Can ya tell I loved his backdrop? I couldn’t stop staring at it. It’s like going to a Dallas Cowboys game and only watching the ginormous screen in front of you. Luckily, it didn’t take anything away from the actual concert.

And I think I’m more in love with that man after seeing him live. Joe has some competition.

Leave a Reply

