TWD: Popovers

Can I tell you how much this recipe made me happy?

Before even opening the recipe book, I was already dreading the word “Popovers.” Thinking it was another dessert or heavy bread, I prepared myself for a grueling Sunday afternoon.

But alas! (Who says that?!)

It couldn’t have been further from the truth. No dessert.

Heavy bread? Eh not really.

The batter was as easy as throwing together batter for pancakes. Just some quick flour, butter and eggs and you’ve got yourself the start of something amazing.

I spent five minutes preparing the batter and the next 20 minutes nervously anticipating whether or not the dough was going to “popover” my muffin tins and spill onto my oven. I wasn’t about to clean that oven, so I sat in front of the stove like a little girl waiting for brownies as I watched those suckers rise. That’s the meaning behind these. You add a 1/4 cup of batter into each muffin cup alternating cups so that there is enough air around the popover. Once they’re in the oven, they slowly rise and pop over the rim of the tin.

No batter was spilled in the making of this little masterpiece.

They are best served fresh out of the oven. I quickly grabbed the butter and honey and Joe and I plowed into one.

My favorite thing about this recipe is they are slightly flaky. Not so flaky that they just crumble as soon as you sink your teeth into them. The perfect flakiness! They reminded me of the French croissants I scarfed down in Paris back in April. That first bite took me back to the little bakery we stopped at a couple times for yummy croissants and desserts. A simple memory like that seriously made these one of the best recipes I’ve made with Tuesdays With Dorie.

It was the perfect little recipe that could be devoured as rolls with dinner or dessert with a little honey. Simply yummy!

Now how about you run over here and here for the full recipe. And then run to your kitchen to make them. You won’t be disappointed.

18 comments
  1. Ckay said:

    20 minutes standing in front of the oven watching them metamorphosing… It’s was funny!
    I’m glad they made you happy … I think they made quite a lot of people happy!
    It’s a great and easy recipe.
    We all loved them!
    (I’ve made some sweet and some cheesy (Grana cheese) adding rosemary and spices).

    • Oh Lawd! You start adding other additives to them and you’ve got something lethally delicious. Thanks for stopping by!

    • I’ll definitly be making these again and again.

  2. hanna said:

    oh man these look wicked good. none for me. i gained 7 pounds. darn it

    • Aww Hanna! I’m sure that precious little baby would love these!

  3. These were the perfect little bite. We loved them and will make them again soon.

    • Yeah, I’m adding these to the make again recipe stack. So good.

  4. they were, like you say – simply yummy!
    I spent my time just sitting in front of the oven looking at them rise as well. 🙂
    Glad you enjoyed them!

    • Whew! I’m glad I wasn’t the only one standing in the kitchen.

  5. Teresa said:

    In your last photo, you’ve made that popover into an absolutely decadent snack!

  6. Piebird said:

    Your butter and honey picture makes me want to make these again!

  7. Cher said:

    These are a nice treat and a fun change from a biscuit or roll.
    They look perfect!

    • That’s what I loved about them! They have both the sweet and savory sides to them.

Leave a Reply

