Escape Your World

Many years ago, my mother, a librarian, bought my brother and me beautiful, floor-to-ceiling bookshelves. As a library science major, my mother has always loved reading. Delving deep into fiction, non-fiction, biographies, historical novels, you name it she’s read something of the sort. Luckily, she passed her love of reading onto me and I couldn’t be more thrilled.

So I read books.

I read books often.

And with that said, I love spending an afternoon in a Half Price Books store hunting for more stories to sink my teeth eyes into. I usually end up walking out with half a dozen books and a big grin plastered on my face. Oh lounging on the couch with a good book never looked so good.

Here’s my problem.

I buy these books and then they go in a queue. Yes, a queue. I have to force myself to stay away from any and all bookstores until all the books on my current bookshelf have been read. And we’ve got two bookshelves. One is in our apartment while the one my mother bought me sits at my parents for safe keeping until we have more room.

And let me tell you, the list isn’t short:

Um, yeah. I better get to reading. And this is just the books from the apartment bookshelf!

There’s something so fun about escaping your world and diving head first into someone elses. It’s better than any television show by far. A world in a book could be an apocalyptic world with flesh eating zombies or a 1920’s genre based on unrequited lovers tragically separated. Books tell the truth, they create fantasies and let your mind wonder. Books have a way of tugging at your heartstrings and rooting for the protagonist all while you paint the picture in your head.

To simply put it words are powerful. So grab yourself a good book, some tea and hunker deep into your couch for a night of good fiction. You know I will be.

P.S. What have you been reading lately??

P.S.S. Go grab yourself some of that yummy Spiced Pumpkin candle. You won’t regret it. Promise.

Leave a Reply

