I Just Don’t Feel Like It

Life is hard. Wear a helmet.

I’m sure you all noticed I was a bit MIA last week. I had a serious case of zero motivation, writers block and an I’d-rather-be-hanging-out-with-family-than-blogging mentality. You understand right?

We all have these temporary times where the motivation just isn’t there. Last week was pretty bad for me in that department. I didn’t even workout except for an occasional burst to pick up the weights. I worked and spent my evenings with my dad or cooking dinner for Joe and I. I had no care in the world to blog, run or clean. I wanted to watch my t.v. shows and surf the internet. It was glorious I tell you. Glorious.

As the days ticked by and my motivation was still non-existent, I began thinking about what led me to this lack of motivation. I didn’t feel overworked or tired. There wasn’t a time before my anti-motivation that I said I desperately needed a break. For some reason, I just didn’t feel like it. That was really my only excuse. It certainly isn’t a very good one, but it’s one nonetheless.

And what do you do when you have writers block? My first instinct is to step away from the computer and do something. Anything. Shop. Read. Take a walk. Plan a local trip somewhere. So that’s basically what I did. Joe and I had some good conversations about the wedding, which I believe we’re moving the date so stay tuned for that. Trips to the fair, dinners with dad and parties with family. It was a nice way to refresh.

I certainly love blogging. I wouldn’t do it if I didn’t, but everyone needs some time away. I think it’s perfectly okay to step away from the computer for a week. I remember when I first started blogging I wanted to write a post Monday-Friday every week. I ended up hating some posts that went live because I didn’t have much to say at the time. That’s certainly not how I want to blog. So I think it’s okay to sit and take a break. It’s needed and necessary to continue this blog the way I see fit.

I’m sure you understand. I did miss you all and I’m feeling much better and ready to go. Stick around for some good posts coming your way!

Leave a Reply

