I Think I’ve Caught The Bug

One of my favorite things to do in my down time is hunt for new races to conquer. I know. I’m weird. I seem to have caught some sort of bug – an awesome running bug! I haven’t signed up for any of these, but I’ve got these races on my calendar.

Turkey Trot – November 22, 2012 – 8 miles

I’ve been running for over a year now and didn’t even think about doing this race last year. Last year, I wouldn’t have even thought about doing the 8-miler. They’ve got a nice comfortable 5K, but who likes comfortable. More than likely I’ll be taking a run/walk approach. Run a couple miles. Walk a few minutes. Repeat.

Reindeer Romp – December 7, 2012 – 4.2 miles

This race enticed me for a few reasons. It’s in my college town, Denton, which is about 20 minutes away from where I currently live. The race takes place at a trail I’ve been meaning to run at. Driving 30 minutes out of the way just hasn’t been a good enough excuse to get up there. The price is definitely right. It’s only $15! This is really my perfect distance right now. I’m comfortable running 4 miles without needing an ambulance.

New Years 5 Mile – January 1, 2013 – 5 miles

This one takes place at White Rock Lake (like 75% of the others do). I’m starting to really like the trail there. I don’t get out that way much since it’s near downtown Dallas, but it’s always fun to run that trail. This one is still up in the air depending on if I want to sleep in that day or not. Yes, sometimes doing a race comes down to my sleep schedule…or my I-drank-too-much-last-night schedule.

Hotcake Hustle – January 12, 2013 – 5K/10K

This is the very first 5K I ever ran and I did it in just over 35 minutes.  It’s a sentimental race, so I’m looking at doing it again. I haven’t decided on the mileage yet. There is a massive hill on a bridge and if I choose to do the 10K, I have to go climb that bad boy 4 times. Yikes! The best part about this race is you get pancakes at the finish. It’s not just any ol’ pancakes. The Original Pancake House sponsors it. They have THE best syrup and pancakes. Mmmm motivation.

Hot Chocolate – February 9, 2013 – 5K

Known as America’s Sweetest Race, I regretted not doing this last year strictly because they give out the best running swag. Last year it was a tech jacket. This year it’s a sweatshirt. The price is a little steep at $48. You do get chocolate at the end which is always a good incentive in my book. Currently, you can vote on which snack (rice krispies, vanilla wafers, graham crackers, etc) is the perfect pairing for chocolate. Is there a “all of the above” option?

Color Run – April 6, 2013 – 5K

They finally added the date to the Dallas event! This race is supposedly the “happiest” run ever, so I’m looking forward to some serious grin action with my best buds on this one. I doubt I’ll go for any PR, but it’ll be a lot of fun anyway.

King Tut Triathlon – April 14, 2013 – Sprint Triathlon/My First Tri

Yes, you read that right. A Triathlon! The cool thing about this race is newbies can choose to register for the My First Tri. This version consists of a 300 meter swim, 5.5 mile bike ride and a 2 mile run. The sprint triathlon includes a 500 meter swim, 11 mile bike ride and a 5K run. It’s definitely an achievable goal to start with the shorter distance, but I can’t say I haven’t thought about the legit sprint race. I know I could do it.

So that leads us nearing into summer and that’s a whole different ball game. What’s on your race schedule?

Leave a Reply

