TWD: Buttermilk Crumb Muffins

Whew. I think I need a weekend from my weekend. Luckily Monday is over and it’s time for Tuesdays with Dorie.

I surprised myself with this one. I hadn’t even glanced at the recipe until two days ago. Sundays are grocery day and with the intention of not making the recipe, I headed off to the store. While there, I had an inkling to pick up some buttermilk in the hopes that the recipe would be easy and I would have all the ingredients at home.

I got home and grabbed the recipe book to find that indeed I had everything on hand. Sweet!

This recipe was really easy. It’s a nice basic muffin recipe. No crazy steps. No waiting periods. My kinda recipe. I was skeptical about the crumb topping. Toppings I’ve seen are very heavy on the brown sugar and this recipe called for a 50/50 mix of flour and brown sugar with a bit of solid shortening.

The house smelled wonderful and 25 minutes later my mouth was watering. I had to try one immediately sans butter. These taste a bit like a spice cake just without an extreme spice flavor. Does that make sense?

And for a photogenic touch, I added a slice of butter for photos.

The flavor isn’t too overwhelming and is nice for breakfast or as an afternoon snack.

I wish the photos were better. Nothing compares to natural lighting. Thanks daylight savings! I think if I prepared a little better for these recipes, I’d actually accomplish a few more of them. I’ve gotta work on making these recipes a full week in advance instead of a day before the post. Sigh. I’ll keep working on it guys.

Either way, this recipe is good, but I’m not entirely sure if I’ll make it again. Go check out Lisa at Easier Than Pie for the full recipe and try it out yourself. Just be prepared to use a lot of brown sugar and crisco. This recipe isn’t for those looking to lose weight.

Unrelated to this post: GO VOTE! Happy Election Day ‘Murica!

13 comments
  1. SandraM said:

    I had all the ingredients on hand too! It doesn`t happen often, but so amazing when it does! Your muffins look lovely. I like the look of the muffin cut in half. We are always so obsessed with how the top looks and now we see the inside looks great too!

    • You’re right! It doesn’t happen very often. Thanks for stopping by.

  2. Your muffin looks perfect. Mine tasted pretty good but somehow they resemble the Grand Canyon! I’ll just smile, hold my head up and move on!

    • I’ve definitely had those recipes. Baking isn’t always easy.

  3. Karen K said:

    Doesn’t it feel good to have all of the ingredients? I even had powdered buttermilk. Felt nice to not have to stop at the store because I waited until the last minute too. Nice photos.

    • Wow powdered buttermilk?! Impressive. It stresses me out to wait to the last minute, but I was so glad these came together so well and so quickly.

  4. Cathleen said:

    Beautiful photos. Yep, with daylight savings ending I need to be done before 3:00 for that natural light!

  5. We seem to have a similar grocery shopping style!
    You muffins look great and love the dollop of butter!

  6. i know, the time change will mean i can’t take after-work photos anymore–boo! your muffins still look delicious, though, even without natural light.

    • Yeah. I takes a bit of getting used to, too!

  7. I know what you mean about natural light – somehow, daylight makes everything look better 🙂 Too bad for me I’m a procrastinator; it’ll be rare for me to get a daylight picture for the next few months!

Leave a comment